Move & Manifest 2018

Yesterday we had a great turnout for the first ever "Move & Manifest" New Year's Eve event which included a 14-posture, 7-chakra clearing and rebalancing asana series- each chakra was partnered with an affirmative mantra. This was followed by pranayama, savasana and sankalpa- a yogic version of intention setting. Throughout the class I read from several of my favorite books on yoga. Since class, I have gotten a handful of requests to share the mantras and readings for people to refer to as well as a summary of the process of sankalpa. This blog post is for you to refer to as you step into this new year, already fully equipped in your greatness. Here is turning within and listening for your deepest truths to reveal themselves to you over the coming days. Yours, Marca. 

Opening Readings in Easy Seated Pose: 

(From: 1,001 Pearls of Yoga Wisdom by Liz Lark)

"If at the end of a busy day, you feel as if you haven't "achieved" your goals, reflect on the fact that what's inside you is enough. Union with yourself is the essence of yoga." 

"The fabled musk deer searches the whole world over for the source of the scent which comes from within." Sri Ramakrishna Paramahamsa (1836-1886), INDIA

(From: Meditations on Intention and Being by Rolf Gates)

"I Choose Now"

When the Buddha touched the earth he was saying, "I choose now. I will not give the power of this moment away to the past or to the future. I choose now. I do not need more time, or less time, or another time. I choose now. I do not need to be more or to be less; I choose the person I am. I choose now. I do not need a golden age, an age of reason, or a romantic period. I choose now. It is enough for me to have this body, this breath, this moment. I choose now. I have the power to choose this moment, and when I use that power this moment becomes the moment I remember who I am. Each time I touch the earth this moment becomes the moment I awaken. 

14-Pose, 7-Chakra Clearing & Rebalancing Asana Class: (Sequencing by Marca, mantras by MindBodyGreen)  Posture pairings include an active and a passive posture with a corresponding front-body, back-body awareness

1st Chakra: Root Chakra (Muladhara) RED "I am strong, stable, & at peace" Goddess Pose/Supported Wide-Legged Standing Forward Bend

2nd Chakra: Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana) ORANGE "Creativity is Flowing through Me" Side Angle Pose/Supported Downward Facing Dog

3rd Chakra: Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) GOLDEN "Sometimes Letting Go is the Most Empowering Choice" Boat Pose-(hold/release)/Sphinx with belly breathing

4th Chakra: Heart Chakra (Anahata) GREEN "Giving Equals Receiving" Cobra Pose/Head of the Knee Pose

5th Chakra: Throat Chakra (Vishuddha) TURQUOISE "My Words are like Seeds" Lion Pose/Seated Forward Bend

6th Chakra: Brow Chakra (Ajna) INDIGO "I am Open to New Ideas" Yoga Mudra Forward bend in Easy Seated or Half Lotus w/ breath retention after exhalation /Bound Angle Pose with head support

7th Chakra: Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) VIOLET "I surrender to the highest and best that seeks to emerge through me" Hare Pose/Reclining Pranayama 

Pranayama: Reclining w/ extended inhale/exhale taking normal breaths between cycles as needed

(From: Light On Life by B.K.S. Iyengar)

"Live from moment to moment absorbed in the unruffled flow of the circular movement of the in- and out- breaths. Its current should be like that of a very full, stately river, whose movements cannot be seen. If the mind is predominant during inhalation, you are doing egotistical pranayama. If the mind descends, and it is the heart that is predominant, you are doing true, humble pranayama." 

"The in-breath is a movement toward the peripheral consciousness; the out-breath moves in to the core of the consciousness... when you hold your breath, you hold your soul. By retaining the full in-breath, you hold the divine infinite within yourself... By exhaling you generously give out your individual self to the universal world. To expire means both to breath out and to die. What dies in the known I-sense, which clings passionately to its own identity and existence. In retention after exhalation, you experience life after death. The ego's worst fear is confronted and conquered."

"It is said in the Hatha Yoga Pradipika that the senses are governed by the mind, the mind is governed by the breath, and the breath is governed by the nerves... The yogi learns to use the mind to govern his senses, and he uses his breath to govern the mind."

How to Create a Sankalpa LINK TO ARTICLE